Qualities that Make a Community “Age-Friendly”

July 25, 2017


Here at the NNORC that is our focus—100%—and we’re always exploring new ways to shape that vision
into a reality.

On July 12, NNORC staff was invited to participate in the kick-off meeting for the Age Friendly Albany County initiative. The invitation described it as “a meeting of potential stakeholders who will partner with Albany County, World Health Organization, and AARP on a vital and exciting initiative to make Albany County Age Friendly for all of our workers, visitors and residents.”

Representatives from state and local government, health agencies, educational organizations, and service providers gathered at The First Unitarian Universalist Society to brainstorm how we can better pool our skills
and resources to serve seniors.

This National and International Initiative—led by AARP here in the U.S. and the World Health Organization Internationally—lists Eight Domains of Livability:

  1. Outdoor Sources and Buildings: Accessible places for people of all ages to gather indoors and out. Safe streets, green spaces, sidewalks and seating.
  2. Transportation Choices: Driving a car should not be the only option for getting around.
  3. Housing: Affordable housing options that can be designed or modified to allow safe “Aging in Place.”
  4. Social Participation: Accessible, affordable, engaging social activities.
  5. Respect and Social Inclusion: Intergenerational activities for young and old to meet and learn from one another and feel good about themselves
  6. Work and Civic Engagement: Opportunities for older individuals to work—for pay if they choose—or
    volunteer their skills in the community
  7. Communication and Information: Recognize that many methods must be utilized to disseminate information and provide contact
  8. Community and Health Services: Provide a means for all residents to receive affordable care when needed.                                                                                                       It’s easy to see that devising strategies to address these Eight Domains of Livability will make our community not only “Age-Friendly” but more importantly, will enhance livability for ALL residents of ALL ages.
, ,